PDA

View Full Version : Monster.com Infiltrated



Jonathan
08-24-2007, 11:25 AM
Monster.com is a website that people use to post their qualifications and resumes whereas employers can get this information and then hire, et cetera..


It turns out that Monster.com has been infiltrated recently. It appears to not be a "hacking" of monster, but the use of legitimate usernames/passwords (unauthorized access, nonetheless).

Personally identifiable information was taken and stored on a remote server for malicious uses (spam?)


You know, this would really suck if I had an account at Mons...

Oh wait. I do.

-_-

Full article: http://www.computerworld.com/action/article.do?command=viewArticleBasic&articleId=9032518&source=NLT_AM&nlid=1

ALTernative
08-27-2007, 06:26 PM
Good job Knippy. Very smart.

Doherty
09-01-2007, 01:40 PM
Oh, shi-

I know my mom has an account there! lol
brb telling her this

Jonathan
09-01-2007, 01:45 PM
They sent out an email about it yesterday, all subscribers got one.



Dear Valued Monster Customer,

Protecting the job seekers who use our website is a top priority, and we value the trust you place in Monster. Regrettably, opportunistic criminals are increasingly using the Internet for illegitimate purposes. As is the case with many companies that maintain large databases of information, Monster is from time to time subject to attempts to illegally extract information from its database.

As you may be aware, the Monster resume database was recently the target of malicious activity that involved the illegal downloading of information such as names, addresses, phone numbers, and email addresses for some of our job seekers with resumes posted on Monster sites. Monster responded to this specific incident by conducting a comprehensive review of internal processes and procedures, notified those job seekers that their contact records had been downloaded illegally, and shut down a rogue server that was hosting these records.

ALTernative
09-07-2007, 09:13 PM
Good thing I dont have a job.

Greenvalv
09-08-2007, 01:16 AM
Good thing I dont have a job.
That's kinda oxymoronish...

ALTernative
09-08-2007, 01:38 AM
Oxymoronish? Explain.

Ex0r
01-01-2008, 06:00 PM
The purpose of monster.com is for people looking for jobs, so you saying 'good thing i don't have a job' about a topic related to a website for finding jobs is what's so oxymoron about it.

ALTernative
01-15-2008, 12:33 AM
What are you some hippie?

Adam
03-06-2008, 12:24 PM
What are you some hippie?

yes i am dammit deal with it.

ALTernative
04-11-2008, 09:08 PM
never!